shin maru biru birthday dinner @ so tired

Sorry for the long delay–let’s just say I was SUPER busy! My apologies, but I’m back!!

Anyways, all I have to say is I am blessed with the best of friends!! Last Wednesday was my birthday, and since Boo-chan couldn’t get off work early, Mr T and Fee didn’t want me to be at home alone, so they decided to take me out to dinner–heart you guys!! So we were off to Shin-Maru Biru (新丸の内ビルディング Shin Marunouchi Building) to eat at So Tired (ソータイアード) .

Shin-Maru-Biru is located in front of Tokyo Station. It has 8 floors filled with over 150 retail outlets and 40 restaurants. It was originally opened in 1952 and renovated in spring 2007.

160px-Shin-marunouchi.Building-2007-01

So Tired is located in the Marunouchi HOUSE, or 7th floor of Shin-Maru Biru and serves a combination of  authentic cantonese cuisine and western dishes. The stained glass was colorful, and seemed to brighten the atmosphere.  On the opposite side of the glass there were more seats and even terrace seating–too bad its still too cold to dine outside.

shopphoto2

Mr T and I arrived together and while waiting for Fee we ordered our drinks; I had a Cassis Cooler (カシスクーラー)  made with cassis, gin, and berry jam and Mr T had a Mojito Beer (モヒートビール). Happy birthday to me—kanpai (乾杯 cheers)!!!

 DSC_2793

To start we ordered the caesar salad with Chinese roasted chicken (シーザーサラダ  鶏叉焼(チャーシュー).

DSC_2795

Yummy crispy eggrolls (春巻き)–my fav!! The filling was seasoned just right (already ate one before I took the pic-oops)

2013-03-22-19-01-18_deco

Sorry this is a weird angle–but Chinese style chicken wings! They were sweet yet tangy, and were coated with enough sauce.

2013-03-22-19-00-28_deco

Fried shrimp and mayonaise sauce (車海老のマヨネーズソース) . The shrimp was still crispy although covered with sauce–which I thought was a little to heavy for my liking.

DSC_2805

Fried Soft Shell Crab (ソフトシェル)!! This is soooo tasty, we had to order two of them. This is definitely a MUST order dish!

DSC_2803

Herb Chicken with Gorgonzola Cheese (ハーブゴルゴンゾーラグリルチキン). Was so cheesy (in a good way), but I don’t like flimsy chicken skin, so I didn’t eat it which took some of the flavor away.

DSC_2809

Gomoku Sauce on Rice (五目あんかけご飯) is always a pleaser! The taste is simple but was so delish!

2013-03-22-19-02-17_deco

A good meal ends with food, but a GREAT meal ends with dessert!! Awwww it’s my birthday dessert plate!! There were big fans on the ceiling that kept blowing out my birthday candles–hahahh

DSC_2813 DSC_2812

My birthday plate consisted of 4 scrumptious desserts (R to L) -1. seasonal apple pie (季節のデザート), 2. chiffon cake of the day (本日のシフォンケーキ), 3. seasonal strawberry tart (季節タルト), and 4. gorgonzola cheese cake (ゴルゴンゾーラチーズケーキ) and ofcourse a scoop of vanilla ice cream and pieces of fruit. My fav was the strawberry tart–which just so happens to be the most fattening. ugh!

DSC_2816

I had super fabulous birthday dinner–thank you boyz!! So have you noticed anything different bout my blog? Yup, I decided to make my photos bigger–per request of a fellow reader. Your opinions, suggestion and/or comments are always welcome! So what new places have you tried recently?

xxxo,

ms fancy pants tokyo

2013-03-22-18-59-01_deco

  • So Tired (ソータイアード) .
  • 1-5-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku Tokyo
  • 7F Shin Maru Biru
  • Mon-Sat 11:00-04:00am
  • Sun/Holidays 11:00-11:00pm
  • 03-5220-1358
One thought on “shin maru biru birthday dinner @ so tired

  1. We went there last time I was in Japan! Loved the name and loved that whole building and all the fabulous shopping, could have spent a whole day there!

Leave a Reply

