lunch @ chiles mexican grill

I miss really good Mexican food. So when I heard a new Mexican joint, Chiles Mexican Grill, had opened up in Harajuku (原宿) , I knew I had to check it out. So Mr T and I were on it!

Chiles Mexican Grill is off a side street on the ever-so-popular Takeshita Street (竹下通り). It’s easy to spot with its bright yellow sign. Mr T posing in front of the brightly colored restaurant.

2013-04-11-19-46-02_deco 2013-04-11-19-46-29_deco

They have a simple lunch menu-Set A: Dos Tacos (ドス タコス), Set B: Quesadilla (ケサディージャ), and Set C: Burrito (ブリトー). Each lunch set comes with a drink and your choice of chips and salsa or side salad. You also choose the filling, beef (ビーフ), chicken (チキン), carnitas (ポーク) or vegetarian (野菜).

2013-04-11-19-47-00_deco

The restaurant walls are brightly colored, there are two cute chandeliers, and a green sofa seat section in the middle, and mexican decor and tiles. Mr T and I sat in the middle section, on the cozy couches.

2013-04-11-19-50-03_deco

I ordered Set A: dos tacos carnitas with chips and salsa and an Inca Kola–which is a type of cream soda. It tasted like a mixture between Japanese melon soda and cream soda.

2013-04-11-19-48-07_deco

The chips came out warm as they were freshly made for us along with the salsa too (pico de gallo).

2013-04-11-19-49-29_deco

1. They have an open kitchen and make everything fresh.  2. The chef is making my tacos!

2013-04-11-19-50-47_deco 2013-04-11-19-47-36_deco

My carnitas tacos were seasoned perfectly. I also choose a medium sauce, as I wasn’t sure how hot it was or wasn’t going to be. The tacos were simple with lettuce, cheese, and purple onions, but they definitely hit the spot!

2013-04-11-19-48-29_deco

Mr T had Set B: beef quesadilla with chips and salsa and a Coke. They were grilled to a crisp and looked delish. The chef also made a fantastic spicier salsa for us, this was sooooo good! I loved how the toppings resembled the Mexican flag-green guacamole, white sour cream, and red pico de gallo.

2013-04-11-19-49-08_deco

The two staff in the restaurant were very friendly and talkative. I am definitely coming back again! And again I did–the next night I went again with Boo-chan and Ree-O for din din! Oops twice in two days!

We were all hungry and since this Chiles’s slogan was “The Best Mexican Burritos in Tokyo”, we all decided to try them. 1. Boo-chan had the pork pibil orange sauce burrito.   2.  Boo-chan got a beer– T.J Guera, new craft premium Mexican Beer.  3. Ree-O had the chicken ranchero salsa burrito.

DSC_3335 DSC_3333 DSC_3337

 I had a chicken adobo burrito with lime cilantro rice, black beans, medium salsa, and cheese and sour cream. (You can choose lime cilantro or mexican tomato rice, black or pinto beans, your choice of one of the 3 salsas-hot-chiltomate habanero, medium-salsa chipotle, or mild-fresh pico de gallo )

DSC_3341

We also shared chicken ranchero quesadillas–was good!

DSC_3342

And we also had to try an order of nachos. I heart jalapenos!! They were so delish, but i feel like it was a little weird to have shimeji mushrooms in nachos, but I still ate them nonetheless!

DSC_3339

Everything was so simple and yet so tasty!! I love this place and all the salsas and sauces were fabulous! I am sure that I will be back again soon! I didn’t have room for dessert but I want to try the Mexican cheese flan or one of the other mouth-watering desserts on their menu!

xxxo,

ms fancy pants tokyo & mexican spices and sauces!

2013-04-11-19-47-20_deco

  • Chiles Mexican Grill
  • 1-8-24 Jingu-mae, Shibuya-ku Tokyo
  • 1F OZ Harajuku Bldg
  • Mon 9:00-16:00
  • Tue-Thurs 9:00-21:00
  • Fri-Sat 9:00-22:00
  • Sun 9:00-20:00
  • 03-6434-9693
2 thoughts on “lunch @ chiles mexican grill

Leave a Reply

