review: John Masters Organics Evening Primrose Shampoo, Citrus & Neroli Detangler

Ever since I was a little girl, my mom was super strict about my hair. Don’t get me wrong, I had perms, highlights and styled my hair as I wanted growing up. When I mean strict, I’m talking about hair care. Anytime she could see a split end, it was off to the hair dressers to get a cut and treatment. And too this day, I think I take good care of my hair thanks to my mom!

I have used many different hair products from cheap to expensive, organic to man-made, and for all sorts of reasons, shiny, volume, dry, etc. So finally, I decided to jump on the band wagon and try John Masters Organics Evening Primrose Shampoo for Dry Hair and John Masters Organics Citrus & Neroli Detangler. It’s been about one month since I started to use both products.

DSC_2928

First, let’s talk about John Masters Organics Evening Primrose Shampoo for Dry Hair. The basics:

  • Made with 21 certified organic ingredients
  • Does NOT contain sodium lauryl sulfate
  • Key Ingredients
  • • evening primrose — adds moisture, strengthens hair
  • • hyaluronic acid — same acid found abundantly in young hair, creates healthy lustrous hair and moisturized scalps
    • geranium — strengthens hair shaft; a cellular regenerative

To be exact, I do NOT have dry or damaged hair (in my opinion), but I used this product nonetheless. When I washed my hair for the first time, I wasn’t sure if I liked it because it didn’t lather up in same way as other non-organic shampoos did. But after a couple of washes, I got used to it. The scent was very herbal and reminded me of Aveda Rosemary Mint Shampoo. I usually like sweet smelling shampoos but I have grown to like this scent. I feel both my scalp and hair are clean after using it. I like to massage the shampoo into my scalp. Although I like it when there a lots of suds, I guess less suds means more moisture–which is good. I like using this shampoo.

Next, let’s talk about John Masters Organics Citrus & Neroli Detangler. The basics:

  • Made with 17 certified organic ingredients
  • Can be used as a rinse out or leave-in conditioner
  • Key Ingredients
  • • grapefruit – toning effect on scalp
    • neroli – treats dry scalp
    • soy protein – strengthens hair follicles; makes hair look thicker and fuller, improves shine
    • wheat amino acids – help with comb-through and shine
    • coconut oil – helps add moisture and shine

This conditioner was recommended for fine hair–which I have. But I had heard from a friend that I shouldn’t use this conditioner daily, as it might dry out my hair and make it  feel brittle. But since I use different hair oils (Kerastase Oleo Relax, L’oreal Elseve Liss-Intense, and Fekkai Glossing Cream) on the ends of my hair, I don’t think my hair has gotten brittle or dry. I haven’t used it as a leave in treatment, only a rinse out conditioner. As this is a very light conditioner, I do tend to use a lot while lathering my hair. And I feel like while I am lathering I don’t feel that smoothness as I do with my regular non-organic conditioner.As my hair is usually shiny and easy to manage, I am not sure how well this is working on my hair. After talking with many friends, I have also used a different conditioner to see if there were different results, but unfortunately, I didn’t notice any real difference between JMO conditioner and my regular one. The citrus smell is very light. I will try it as a leave-in conditioner to see if I notice anything different.

I really like the JMO evening primrose shampoo, although I like the scent of the Zinc & Sage Shampoo better, but that is for oily hair, which I definitely don’t have. I am still unsure about the conditioner. I don’t know if it works that well. Once a week I also have a hair pack regime so I know my hair is better after using that. I would definitely recommend the shampoo (if you can stand the smell–I like it) but as of now, I can’t recommend the conditioner.  What shampoo and conditioner are you using now?

xxxo,

ms fancy pants tokyo

2013-04-15-20-12-38_deco

2 thoughts on “review: John Masters Organics Evening Primrose Shampoo, Citrus & Neroli Detangler

Leave a Reply

