lunching at bubby’s new york, ark hills

Ree-O and I are still on our walking kick. We choose to walk over 13km today (8 miles). Before we headed out we decided to try out Bubby’s New York Ark Hills (バビーズ ニューヨークアークヒルズ) and mapped out our walking plan accordingly.

We had both heard so many rave reviews about Bubby’s from friends and were both excited to finally check it out. Since it was a Saturday, Ark Hills was having a small famer’s market in the outside foyer so Ree-O and I decided to sit outside. As we reviewed the menu, we watched the salsa lessons that were happening.

a0123450_1349191 320x320_rect_19098620-1

Mr T had visited a different branch of Bubby’s and had chicken and waffles, and I really wanted to eat that. Unfortunately, it wasn’t on the menu. RiRi always raved about their pancakes, but since we had walked over 6km I needed meat. hahahha. So what was a girl to do. I didn’t want a hamburger either, so I did the next best thing and ordered a sandwhich.

To start our meals, Ree-O and I both ordred their Homade Pink Lemonade (ホームメードピンクレモネード). It was tart and tangy with a pinch of sweetness. I really liked it. It tasted less superficial then pink lemonade from a fountain.

IMG_0953

Ree-O ended up ordering the Pitt BBQ Pork Sandwich (BBQポークのサンドウィッチ). I guess we both thought it was supposed to be dripping in BBQ sauce, but it was actually quiet dry and very lightly seasoned. The bun was buttered and toasted, which gave the sandwich a sweeter taste. The fries also tasted on the sweet side and were not crispy but very limp. I tried the sammy but unfortunately was NOT impressed…

DSC_4173

Close-up on the pork sammy. Ree-O and I were a little disappointed with this one.

DSC_4174

The purple cabbage coleslaw was delish though. It had a light refreshing taste. I usually dislike coleslaw because of the heavy mayonnaise, but this was great!

DSC_4175

I ordered Fried Chicken Sandwich (フライドチキンのサンドウィッチ). As I originally wanted the chicken and waffles, I thought maybe the friend chicken sandwich would be close to it. I wanted it to be buttermilk fried chicken, but it was NOT what I expected. It wasn’t bad, but it just didn’t settle right with me as I was hoping for something else.

DSC_4171

Here’s a closer look. I guess it was hard for me to make my decision on this sammy based on my disappointment. And to top it off, the fries were just soft. It was a double let down.

DSC_4172

As we were both kinda sad about our meals, we decided to pass on the pies–although that is what they seem to be most famous for. I just didn’t want to spend more money and be disappointed.  Next time, I think I will try to order the pancakes or something that I know tastes good.

So for dessert, we walked by Roppongi Hills (六本木ヒルズ) and had to make a pit stop at Cinnabon. Needed to get rid of the bad after taste of Bubby’s and fill it with something warm, sweet and delish. Think we needed to walk way more then 13 km to burn this baby off–hahah but it was well worth it.

DSC_4176

So Bubby’s turned out to be a dud. I really wished I had liked it. But I will give it one more go and then decide whether I like it or not. Don’t you hate when you order something that you don’t like. When was the last time you were disappointed at a restaurant?

xxxo,

ms fancy pants tokyo & my cinnabon!

DSC_4177

  • Bubby’s New York Ark Hills (バビーズ ニューヨークアークヒルズ)
  • 1-12-32 Akasaka, Minato-ku Tokyo
  • 2F Ark Mori Bldg
  • Mon-Fri 8:00-23:00
  • Sat-Sun 10:00-22:00
  • 03-6441-0733
2 thoughts on “lunching at bubby’s new york, ark hills

  1. Hey Tami, I tried Bubby’s in Sakuragicho some time back and their desserts were awesome. maybe that is what they are good at.

Leave a Reply

