coffee break @tarlum, girls dinner @ saku

sanEmiri was working hard while she is visiting, so we meet for late coffee and sweets in my hood (代々木八幡 Yoyogi-Hachiman). I love Tarlum (タールム) because they have yummy food and great desserts (I even used them for my wedding).

Tarlum is a 3 story cafe & restaurant that is dog friendly. I love how they use different shades of blue, especially with the blue tiled pools. It makes it feel so relaxing. Yoyogi Park (代々木公園) is right in front of the restaurant so you can look out into the park from the second floor.

48a4fb6a09ac53cc874e685feecbd9cf1bd9c906_tn482x298 mainimg1

Emiri and I were seated in the basement. The atomosphere is completely different from the 2nd floor or entrance lounge, but I still like it. There is a full bar and it contiues with the blue themed pillars but they are not tiled down here.

guide_img3l

  We decided to share their pancakes. It was topped with vanilla ice cream, fresh fruits and was served with a sweet red bean butter. I like these pancakes because they are different then the typical buttermilk type–they take a little time to make. But they are thicker, sweeter and fluffier then regular pancakes.

2013-07-13-20-38-05_deco

I had an ice tea and Emiri had an ice coffee. We sat and chatted for a while. The pancakes were delish, but I wish that it was topped with whipped cream instead as the ice cream melted quickly–haahha. We went back to my place to relax for a bit before we headed out to dinner at Saku (乍玖).

Saku is this Korean Restaurant that is hidden off the main road. It has a casual atmosphere which is great for eating and drinking Korean style BBQ.

img_saku0827_11 02827392

We started with drinks. I had my regular cocktail-Cassis Soda, and Emiri had a Mageolli (マッコリmakkori). We started with a Korean Bean Sprout Salad (Sookju Namul). I love this and the taste/smell of sesame oil.

DSC_4418

We also ordered an assortment of Kimchee—delish!!

DSC_4419

We both love cow tongue, so we heated up the grill and began with that. I really liked how each piece was loaded with onions! You grill it only on one side so the onions do not fall off.

DSC_4420

We also ordered Harami with sauce.

DSC_4424

Then we ordered a Samgyeopsal Set, which comes with pork belly, lettuce and herb leaf wraps, extra kimchee and miso sauce and peppers.

DSC_4423

A closer look at the meat. I know it looks like bacon, but it tastes like heaven. You place the meat inside the lettuce or leaves and you add kimchee and seasonings as needed. It’s so delish!

DSC_4421

We order more meat and food, but by this time I was too into eating to remember to take pics. But I will recommend the spicy Jjigae (チゲ鍋 chige). It was so good. Although it was a bit spicy, once you add the rice, its perfect!

After eating, talking and drinking so much, I decided I wanted to refresh my mouth with something sweet. So I had to order my fav–sweet Korean pancake called Hoddeok. I was addicted to these when I visited Korean in the winter. The inside of the warm pancake is filled with cinnamon goodness and served with vanilla ice cream.

DSC_4425

Had so much fun with Emiri today. Although we talked a lot I think we ate even more. hahhahha! Anyways, when was the last time you ate Korean food?

xxxo,

ms fancy pants tokyo & gamjatang-pork bone soup (previous visit)

59308_10151112885841389_1007739468_n

  • Tarlum (タールム)
  • 03-3466-1105
  • 1-10-2 Tomigaya, Shibuya-ku Tokyo
  • B1, 1F, 2F Azu Heights
  • Mon-Sat 11:30-2:00am
  • Sun/Holiday 11:30-24:00
  • .
  • Saku (乍玖)
  • 1-51-21 Tomigaya, Shibuya-ku Tokyo
  • Mon-Sat 18:00-3:00
  • Sun/Holidays 18:00-24:00
  • 03-5738-9238
Leave a Reply

