simple winter nails at March Nail Salon (Shibuya)

So after the holidays, I was getting tired of the red and just wanted to do something plain. I decided to just do the regular course at my favorite nail salon March Nails Shibuya (マーチ渋谷店).

The regular course consists of using your natural nails (自爪、jizume), one nail color (ワンカラ) or glitter gradation (ラメグラデーション), and 2 nails with unlimited stone art (ストーン 2本付け放題). This costs 3,985 yen (which is about $40 USD). After deciding on the course, the first step is to choose my color.

photo 1 photo 2

I decided I wanted to go with a grey color because its easy to match and its….was still debating till the last second but finally choose the color on the far left, VC-315.  (Sorry it’s a bit blurry…)

photo 3

So on to nitty gritty. Time to shape and file my nails with a filer. Then in order for the gel to stick to the surface of my nails, it needs to be rough and not smooth. To get this effect, my nailist uses the same tools that a dentist would to add texture to the top layer of my nails.  **For you first timers–don’t worry this doesn’t hurt at all. Its like filing your nails down.

photo 4 photo 5

After all of that is completed, it’s time to add the first coat of clear gel to my nails. All the rough edges are now smooth again. Then it’s time to add some color. My nailist adds two layers of grey gel.

photo 6 photo 7

While my nails were drying under the UV lamp, I decided on the two fingers I want to put the stone art on. I chose my ring finger on both hands. You can choose any finger, and it doesn’t have to be the same one on each hand either.

Next is the fun part, coming up with the stone design. They have pre-maid designs to help you choose or you can come up with one on your own.  The stones come in various colors, sizes and shapes. You can also used any of the metallic looking stones too.

photo 10 photo 11

I just wanted something that was uncomplicated and looked clean. So I decided on different sizes of the same color of stone. I wanted it to be like a gradation on my nails. So my nailist carefully placed the different sized stones on my ring finger in the design that I wanted.  After the final top clear coat was put on top of all my nails.

photo 9 photo 8

Simple is best. Here is the finished product!! I love them!

photo 14

So when was the last time you got your nails done? When you what something plain and simple, what design do you do? What color is best for you?

xxxo,
ms fancy pant tokyo & my new boyfriend mr frosty

photo

  • March Nails Shibuya (マーチ渋谷店)
  • 2-10-14 Shibuya, Shibuya-ku Tokyo
  • 7F Aoyama Alpha Bldg
  • Mon-Fri 10:00-21:00
  • Sat-Sun/Holiday 10:00-18:30
  • 03-6427-2833
  • http://www.nailsalon-march.com
6 thoughts on “simple winter nails at March Nail Salon (Shibuya)

  1. Hi!! love your blog very much!! im going to Japan in a few days so i plan to get my nail done at March Nails Shibuya coz i saw all your review and it looks great!! so im just wondering how mich it will cost me to get my nail done here? how much do i have to pay to get the same design that u did?
    thank you!!

    • Hi pchnya!
      Thank you for reading my blog! Wow, so you are coming to Japan. How fun. The weather is so weird right now, cold and hot, rainy and cloudy. Anyways, those nails cost 3,980 JPY. That is the basic nail plan at the salon. If you want other designs then its an added fee. here are their two websites, one is their homepage http://www.nailsalon-march.com , which you can see their new spring styles. If you click on the pictures you will see the price breakdown. The other is a website called Hot Pepper Beauty. It’s a website to find cheap deals for hair, nails, and eyelashes. http://beauty.hotpepper.jp/kr/slnH000230186/photo/ . The first price is for your natural nails, and the second price is for tips. Unfortunately they are both only in Japanese, so it might be hard if you don’t have any reading ability. But the prices are easy to understand. If you have any more questions, I can try and help you. I can also introduce you to the salon, I mean if you tell them I introduced you, you can get a small discount. Hope this helps!

      • thank you so much!!! this helps a lot!! but i have one more question!! about the deal in Hot Pepper Beauty… Is it the same price as if i just go into the salon without showing them the coupon from the Hot pepper beauty magazine? and Is it gonna be difficult to communicate with the person who is going to do my nails? coz i cant speak Japanese… sorry for asking so many questions… im trying to find the good nail salon with the reasonable price and after reading your blog, im now really interested in March Nail Salon!! sorry and thank you so much!!

      • No prob. The hot pepper coupon is probably cheaper. Plus you are a first time customer so it should actually be cheaper the the prices listed. And if you mention my name I think you can get like a bigger discount too. Even if you don’t speak Japanese you can point to pictures and designs so it’s not so hard. I know ppl that couldn’t speak and got their nails done. Also some of the staff know a little English. I think it’s prob hardest to make an appt so I can try and help you if you need it. Walk-ins are rarely accepted.

  2. Thank you so much tho!! i think i probably gonna go up to Nail Salon on Friday to make appointment and then im gonna get my nail done on Monday coz i dont have japanese telephone number so walk up there would be better i think and even if i can call, i still c ant speak Japanese to them anyway lol. Moreover, the hotel that im gonna stay is not that far from that Nail Salon… Thank you so much anyway!! im really appreciated!! :))

    • Yes, making an appointment in person is easiest I think. If you need any help or assistance please ask me and I can try and help. Or if you want to know anything in Japanese I can also help you too. Good luck and have fun!!

Leave a Reply

